Welcome to Undergraduate Research Council

What is it:

The Undergraduate Research Council of Valdosta State University invites undergraduate students to showcase their research, scholarship, and creative activities to the VSU community at the Twenty-fifth Annual Symposium on Undergraduate Research to be held on April 15-19, 2019. The purpose of the symposium is to provide students with an opportunity to share research papers, laboratory experiments, field projects, creative performances, visual art works, or independent study projects, both completed or in-progress, between Spring Semester 2018 and Spring Semester 2019.  Papers may be considered for publication in OMNINO, the VSU undergraduate research journal. 

Upcoming Conferences!!

GURC Conference at the Univeristy of North Georgia on November 2-3, 2018 in Gainsville, GA.

NCUR Conference at the Kennesaw State University on April 10-13, 2019 in Kennesaw GA.

How to participate:

Students must submit by email a one-page typed abstract (150 word limit) for a poster session, oral presentation, or creative performance/exhibition to their department or program representative. Directions and examples for the preparation of abstracts can be found at: http://www.valdosta.edu/urc/

Students are responsible for completing an electronic version of the student information form at http://studentinformationform.weebly.com/ This weblink will be active in early February 2019 for student submissions. 

Council representatives will submit the abstracts from their respective departments or programs by email to the symposium coordinator, Dr. Lavonna Lovern (llovern@valdosta.edu).  Council representatives should note if the abstract is for a poster session, oral paper presentation, or creative performance/exhibition. Students will submit the student information form through the Undergraduate Research Council website.

Examples of abstracts:

Directions and examples for the preparation of abstracts can be found on the directions for preparing an abstract page.

Student Information Form:

Students are responsible for completing the student information form once the abstract is approved by a department or program:
http://studentinformationform.weebly.com/

Important Due Dates:

  • Abstracts to Department or Program Representatives: 2/22/19                                       
  • URC Representatives send Abstracts to the Symposium Coordinator and Students Complete the online Student Information Form: 3/1/19
  • Notification to Students Selected to Participate in the Symposium: 3/18/19
  • PDFs of Posters to Departmental or Program Representatives for Publication after the Symposium: 5/3/19    

Council Representatives for the Undergraduate Research Symposium for 2019:

 

African American Studies

Dr. Tom Aiello

taiello@valdosta.edu

Art

Dr. Glenda Swan

gmswan@valdosta.edu

Biology

Dr. Timothy Fort

tjfort@valdosta.edu

Chemistry

Dr. Gopeekrishnan Sreenilayam


Communication Arts

Dr. Michael Eaves

meaves@valdosta.edu

Communication Sciences & Disorders & Special Education

Dr. Crystal Randolph

crandolph@valdosta.edu

Computer Science

Dr. Anurag Dasgupta

adasgupta@valdosta.edu

Elementary Education

Dr. Lucia Lu

lylu@valdosta.edu

English

Dr. Ubaraj Katawal

ukatawal@valdosta.edu

History

Dr. Charles Johnson

ctjohnso@valdosta.edu

Honors College

Dr. Michael Savoie

mpsavoie@valdosta.edu

Kinesiology and Physical Education

Dr. Matthew Grant

matgrant@valdosta.edu

Langdale College of Business

Dr. Zulal Denaux

zsdenaux@valdosta.edu

Library

Ms. Emily Rogers

ecrogers@valdosta.edu

Mathematics

Dr. Charles Kicey

ckicey@valdosta.edu

Middle, Secondary, Reading & Deaf Education

Dr. Sean Lennon

smlennon@valdsota.edu

Modern and Classical Languages

Dr. Karen Acosta

karacosta@valdosta.edu

Music

Dr. Kenneth Kirk

kkirk@valdosta.edu

Nursing & Health Sciences

Ms. Laura Carter

lauracarter@valdosta.edu

Philosophy, Religious Studies & Native American Studies

Dr. Lavonna Lovern

llovern@valdosta.edu

Physics, Astronomy, Geosciences & Engineering Studies

Dr. Dereth Drake

djdrake@valdosta.edu

Political Science

Dr. Marc Pufong

mpufong@valdosta.edu

Psychology

Dr. Charles Talor

crtalor@valdosta.edu

Sociology, Anthropology & Criminal Justice

Dr. Fred Knowles

feknowles@valdosta.edu

Women’s and Gender Studies

Dr. Anne Price

annprice@valdosta.edu

Don’t see your department or program listed? Please contact Dr. Lavonna Lovern about opportunities to present at the symposium llovern@valdosta.edu.

This Year's Symposium on Undergraduate Research Program

Pending...

Previous Symposiums on Undergraduate Research

Program Cover 2014
April 5 & 6, 2012 Program (pdf)

April 5 & 6, 2012 Abstracts (pdf

April 1 & 2, 2013 Program (pdf)

April 1 & 2, 2013 Abstracts (pdf)

April 8, 9, & 10, 2014 Program (pdf)

April 8, 9, & 10, 2014 Abstracts (pdf)
April 13, 14, 15, & 16 2015 Program (pdf) April 4, 5, 6 & 7 2016 Program (pdf)
April 10, 11, 12. & 13 2018 Program

Additional Resources

OMNIMO

Office of Student Diversity and Inclusion

Office of Social Equity

Odum Library